Skip to main content
America's Real Estate Academy, Inc.
sales, appraisal, home inspection, and computer training - Atlanta and Woodstock GA
Real Estate Sales and Broker Courses - In Class and Online
Real Estate Pre-License Courses and Class Schedules
Real Estate Exam Prep for Sales and Brokers Licenses
Real Estate Post-License Courses and Class Schedules
Real Estate Online Pre License, Post License, Broker Courses and Continuing Education
Real Estate Broker Pre-License Courses and Class Schedules
Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) Courses and Class Schedules
Real Estate License Requirements in Georgia
Who's Hiring Real Estate Sales Licensees?
Appraisal Courses - Registered Licensed Certified Appraiser and Continuing Education classes
Travel Agent Courses - how to become a travel agent
Home Inspection Courses, Exam Prep and Certification Classes
Real Estate Sales, Appraisal, and Home Inspection FAQs
Student News
AREA e-Learning - Real Estate Online Academy

Obtaining a GA Real Estate Salesperson License

Must be at least 18 years of age. Applicants may take the salesperson's examination at age 17, but cannot activate the license until they are 18.

Must be a high school graduate or the holder of a certificate of equivalency.

Must meet ONE of the following Real Estate Educational Requirements:

  1. Successfully complete the required 75-hour Salesperson Prelicense Course at a school approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission;
  2. Successfully complete a minimum of 10 quarter hours or 6 semester hours of either course work eligible for a major in real estate from a U.S. or Canadian accredited college or university or course in real property, agency, or contracts from a U.S. or Canadian accredited school of law. You must submit to AMP (not the Commission) an official transcript from the college, university, or school of law with you application for examination. Continuing education adult education, crash seminars, and special short courses are not acceptable. AMP will notify you as to whether your coursework is acceptable; OR
  3. Provide proof of completion of at least 75 hours of prelicense course work approved by the real estate regulatory agency of another state or province of Canada. You must obtain a letter from that agency that verifies that the course work is approved in that state or province.

Salespersons must take a 25 hour Salespersons postlicense course within their first year of licensure. The course taken must be one specifically approved by the Commission. Failure to complete a postlicense course during the first year of being licensed will cause the license to lapse. This also pertains to candidates who use reciprocity to obtain a GA license, even if you were licensed for many years in your original state.

Must pass the Examination administered by PSI and approved by the Commission. Persons applying for a salesperson's license must apply within twelve months of the date they took the examination; or after twelve months have passed, they must retake the examination.

Must pay the appropriate licensing fee as described below:

  • If you are applying within 3 months from taking your exam, the fee will be $170.00.
  • If you are applying more than three months but less than 12 months from taking your exam, the fee will be doubled to $340.00.
  • The examination fee plus administration set up by PSI is approximately $121.00 (2022 fees may increase).

A copy of the applicant's criminal history or Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC) Report must be brought to the AMP testing center (not the Commission) when receiving a license. It is not needed when taking the state exam, only to receive the license. If the report indicates any criminal convictions or sanctions by any licensing or regulatory agency, then the Commission will conduct an investigation and decide whether or not to issue the license.

Any individual who successfully passes the salesperson licensing examination may apply to place his or her license on inactive status rather than activating it with a broker. In any case, the applicant must pay the appropriate licensing fee. The salesperson postlicense educational requirements also applies to a salesperson who is on inactive status. Any licensee who places a license on inactive status must also pay renewal fees as they come due.

Any individual who successfully passes the salesperson licensing examination may apply to activate his or her license with a broker using the Sponsoring Broker Statement Application located in the candidate handbook available through PSI. The application must be signed by the sponsoring broker.

The Commission requires that all active licensees licensed after January 1, 1980, must complete approved continuing education (CE) course work during each four year renewal period. Presently licensees must complete
at least thirty-six (36) hours of CE, and after July 1, 2016 three hours of the thirty-six must cover Real Estate Law.

Information on the specific types of licenses, fees, laws, and regulations can be found within the links below or on the GREC website.

Requirements for Licensure
GA Real Estate License Laws and Rules and Regulations

The AREA office personnel will be glad to assist you with any questions. Please contact us at or by phone 770-591-5552.


Get Professional - Get your own URL - FREE email, FREE website and FREE blog - from just $9.99 per YEAR!

Appraisers and Home Inspectors - Accept credit cards - Online with or without a website. This company specializes in providing merchant services to small business.

Best Rates + No Cancellation Fees at

America's Real Estate Academy, Inc.
Phone: 770-591-5552 * Email:
©2002-2024 America's Real Estate Academy, Inc.